Minnesota Report

Yesterday, the Senate Republican Majority announced the Committee Chairs for 2021-22. As expected, Senators Tom Bakk (DFL-03, Cook) and David Tomassoni (DFL-06, Chisholm) were rewarded for their departure from the DFL Caucus with the Capitol Investment and Housing Finance and Policy committees respectively. Now, the question is will they be able to select their own staff or as it is the case in general, will the Majority Caucus select the staff? We also expect Bakk and Tommassoni will have new offices out of the DFL side of the 2nd floor in the Senate Office Building.

Another interesting component of this list is the movement of Senjem, Chamberlain, Nelson, Weber, Jasinski, Osmek, Lang, Draheim, Koran, Mathews, Rarick, Eichorn, Utke and Johnson to new Committee assignments. Additionally, there are new Committees/subcommittees Subcommittee on Property Taxes, Local Government Policy, Subcommittee on Metropolitan Governance Policy, Veterans and Military Affairs, Housing Finance and Policy, Technology and Reform Policy, Civil Law and Data Practices Policy, Labor and Industry Policy, Mining and Forestry Policy, Human Services Licensing Policy and Redistricting.

2021-22 Senate Committee Chairs

Rules: Senator Paul Gazelka
Finance: Senator Julie Rosen
State Government Finance and Policy, and Elections: Senator Mary Kiffmeyer
Health and Human Services Finance and Policy: Senator Michelle Benson
Human Services Reform Finance and Policy: Senator Jim Abeler
Jobs Finance and Policy: Senator Eric Pratt
Commerce Finance and Policy: Senator Gary Dahms
Judiciary and Public Safety Finance and Policy, Criminal Law: Senator Warren Limmer
Environment and Natural Resources Finance: Senator Bill Ingebrigtsen
Environment and Natural Resources Policy and Legacy Finance: Senator Carrie Ruud
Transportation Finance and Policy: Senator Scott Newman
Agriculture Finance and Policy: Senator Torrey Westrom
Aging and Long-Term Care Policy: Senator Karin Housley
Energy Finance and Policy: Senator Dave Senjem
E-12 Finance and Policy: Senator Roger Chamberlain
Taxes: Senator Carla Nelson
Subcommittee on Property Taxes: Senator Bill Weber
Local Government Policy: Senator John Jasinski
Subcommittee on Metropolitan Governance Policy: Senator Dave Osmek
Veterans and Military Affairs: Senator Andrew Lang
Capital Investment: Senator Tom Bakk
Higher Education Finance and Policy: Senator David Tomassoni
Housing Finance and Policy: Senator Rich Draheim
Technology and Reform Policy: Senator Mark Koran
Civil Law and Data Practices Policy: Senator Andrew Mathews
Labor and Industry Policy: Senator Jason Rarick
Mining and Forestry Policy: Senator Justin Eichorn
Human Services Licensing Policy: Senator Paul Utke
Redistricting: Senator Mark Johnson