Minnesota Report

The filing period to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Blake Huffman (R) after improprieties surfaced with his non-profit development company started on June 4, 2019, and will continue until the end of business June 18th.

Currently, the field consists of Nicole Joy Frethem, Jodi L Hultgren, former State Rep Randy Jessup (R), Christopher X. Nguyen, Edwina Patterson, Rebecca Scholl, Steve Scott, Nick Tamble and Mark Voss.  Other names we have heard are Shoreview City Council Member Cory Springhorn and (DFL) former State Rep Marc Asch (DFL).

The DFL has set an endorsing convention for the day after filings close June 19th at the St Paul Painter’s Union in Little Canada. This will allow candidates to withdrawal prior to the Primary date.

It is worth noting, the filing dates for this race differ from those for St Paul City Council because those races do not have a Primary, due to Ranked Choice Voting. The filing dates for St Paul City Council Elections are June 30-August 13.