The swearing in of the government in Minneapolis originally took place, as in tradition, behind closed doors six days ago. Today, the public swearing in of Mayor Jacob Frey (DFL) and the thirteen members of the City Council occurred this morning at 930 am. Additionally, Council Member Lisa Bender (DFL-Ward 10) was elected unanimously as Council President later in the morning. In a weak mayor system, the activities of the council are quite significant, since the mayor is only externally influential.

We will be interested to see how well Bender wrangles votes in the Mill City.