Minnesota Report

Governor-elect Tim Walz (DFL-MN), Lt Governor Peggy Flanagan (DFL-MN), Attorney-election Keith Ellison (DFL-MN), Secretary of State Steve Simon (DFL-MN), and State Auditor-elect Julie Blaha (DFL-MN) all will be sworn in at the ceremony at the Fitzgerald Theater, in St Paul at 11:00 am. This will be followed by a reception in the State Capitol Rotunda at 3-5 pm where the public can greet the new members of the Executive Branch.

Later the DFL House and Senate Caucuses are holding fundraisers at the St Paul Hotel from 4-6 pm and State Rep John Lesch (DFL-66B, St Paul) is hosting his own down the street 6-8 pm at Lesch & Duren LLP law offices, located at 6 West 5th Street in downtown Saint Paul.

Since legislators are barred from taking contributions from lobbyists during the legislative session this is the last opportunity for filling the coffers from the political professionals who have made their trade as informational brokers.